Between Wyomings – a review

Book Description

Join Ken Mansfield on a road trip through the canyons of Hollywood, the outlaw alleys of Nashville, and the backstreets of his soul as this Grammy Award-winning producer recreates his journey through the lush landscapes of success and the deserts that led him home.

For three decades, Ken Mansfield lived the heady life of a record executive and friend to such cultural icons as the Beach Boys, the Beatles, Dolly Parton, and Waylon Jennings. Along the way, he collected a Grammy, number-one albums, and a disquiet that he pushed soul-deep.Between Wyomings invites readers to travel with him on a tender journey that calls readers to reflect on the highways of their own lives and the deserts that press them into the heart of a Creator who has been there all along. As Ken discovers, sometimes when we see how lost we are, we can finally begin to find home.

My Review

After sitting on a shelf for far too long I picked this book up and prepared to read it.  I’m not sure what had been keeping me from getting to this book but as I began to read through the pages I found myself feeling cheated.  This book seemed to drag on and on and there were many times when I prayed that the next page would bring me to an exciting portion of the book that I could find interesting.  I understand that the author has had some amazing experiences throughout his musical career but I just really didn’t care to be a sounding board for his memoir.  I found this book lackluster at best and really wish that I had picked up a different selection to review this time around.

Do yourself a favor, unless you are a huge fan of music history and are interested in the details of the music industry, read something else.

Leave a Reply

