What I Missed While Unplugging

I was very intentional as I took my vacation the past two weeks to unplug and enjoy a simple life.  No Twitter.  No blogging.  No email.  No cell phone.  No social networks of any sort.  During this time I felt so in tune with my family and really connected with meeting their specific needs.  Today I entered back into the world of Twitter and blogging.  I have yet to catch up with my email (I’m dreading that!) but I have gotten up to speed with what I missed while being unplugged…

dead_twitter_bird-300x209

Twitter went down and some discovered that they lack the true connections that they thought they had with Twitter.  I’m constantly amazed at how well people think they are connected with others because they know what someone had to drink today (I’m drinking coffee), where they went shopping (OMG, can’t believe the deal I just got at IKEA!), or where they are at the current moment (stuck in a checkout line behind a guy who has WAY more than 10 items).  It’s funny to see how quickly people fall apart when they don’t know every mundane detail of others lives.

Picture 1

Apparently Radio Shack has hired some worthless marketing directors and they took the misguided and overpriced input and have changed their name to The Shack.  Yeah, that’ll make me go buy stuff their.  I love the tag line; “Our friends call us The Shack.”  Seriously?  That’s the best you can come up with?!    And who checked with William P. Young to see what his thoughts on the new name were?

favre

Brett Favre is now a Minnesota Viking?  Didn’t he retire two years ago last year?  Was it bad enough that he went to the Jets last year.  Now he throws mud in the faces of every Packers fan by playing for the Green Bay rival?  Poor choice by Brett.  I guess the Vikings have taken a page from the U.S. Governments’ playbook and are going to start up their own Cash For Clunkers program.

I suppose I did not miss much at all over the course of the last two weeks…

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Anne Stewart on August 26, 2009 at 1:13 pm

    who were you referring to with the IKEA comment??? hmmmm. hahaha

    Reply

Leave a Reply

