Monday Morning Quarterback

mmqb

As I find myself at the six month mark with these goals I want to take a moment to evaluate each of the goals that I set for myself.  If this kind of stuff bores you please feel free to pass on by.  If, per chance, you have been inspired over the last six months, to establish some personal goals for yourself, please feel free to drop me an email or comment here on this post and let me know how you are doing with your own goals.  More than anything, these weekly posts have been for myself.  I guess knowing that someone may be reading these weekly posts has served as the form of accountability that I need to keep going…

Hike 5 more NH 4000 footers:  I’m taking a personal day this Friday with Jeff Cerow (of the 1/2 marathon fame) and we’re going to make an aggressive attempt at four 4000 footers in the White Mountains.  We’ll begin up the Garfield Trail to Mt. Garfield (4500′) and then along to Galehead Mt.(4024′)  over to S. Twin Mt. (4902′) along the North Twin Spur to N. Twin Mt. (4761′) and then down the North Twin Trail to Rt. 3 for a 3 mile hike back to the trailhead where we began.  Over all we’ll cover 16 miles in the course of this hike.  I say it’s aggressive because it is.  The elevation changes on this hike make t much more than a 16 mile hike.  I’m really looking forward to this hike as the views from some of the peaks should afford great photo opportunities.  (I’ll post some of them next week!)

Travel with the family to Philadelphia in April:  Obviously, this has been put off as we changed plans back in March to rent a cottage at the beach later in the year.  We’re really looking forward to this time together at the beach hunting for crabs and starfish and munching on lobsters and steamers.

Run a 1/2 marathon by July:  nailed it baby!  On May 9th Jeff and I completed the Big Lake 1/2 Marathon in two hours and thirty minutes.

Weight Goal-195, current – 200:  Over the past 6 months I have gone down to my desired weight of 195 and I am bouncing back and forth right now between 195 & 200.  This is a manageable weight for me and I have no concern about keeping in this range.  I’m far more active than I have been in years with running, indoor soccer and hiking.

Monthly date night with Kim: I’m planning a special night out with Kim for this month.  So far we have had a date night every month this year.  I know that some would say we need to make this happen more often and I would, to a degree, agree with them.  However, we are finding more time to be together and are greatly enjoying each other.  The kids are a true blessing to spend time with and I am doing far better than I ever have with making time for them.  I know I can still improve greatly (and I am trying hard to) but I would say that being intentional as I have been for the past six months has really made a difference in our family time.

Increase financial support to Global Benefit/Smyths:  Yes.  This has happened and we are not lacking anything in exchange.  I am immensely blessed by our giving to help an incredible family who has sacrificed all that they have to go and live in Rwanda.  The Smyth family inspires me each day to do all I can to help those around me as they do all they can to help the people of Rwanda.

Sponsor 1 Rwandan child:  Yes.  I consider it pure joy to know that there is a little girl in Rwanda who receives food, healthcare, and an education because of our sacrificial giving.

Stop checking email on days off and holidays/vacations:  This is always a work in progress but I have progressed light years from where I was six months ago.  I truly find myself less stressed about all that can occupy my mind due to ministry.  I have established clear boundaries for myself and feel good about where I am with those boundaries.

Have more fun with the girls -play games, walks, talks:  Yes, yes, yes!  While I will always find myself needing to spend more time with them, as I said above, I am greatly enjoying my time with them and being very intentional to ensure that they do not feel sidelined by the ministry that I am called to.

Take more pictures:  Man, I suck at this one.  While I purposely bring my camera with me wherever I go I still forget to take shots of life as it happens.  I need to continue to work on this one as I love, truly love, to capture moments with my camera.

Continue Daddy Dates with Megan every Friday morning: Every Friday, no exceptions.  As I strive to stay connected with my daughters I will continue this as long as I have children.  I look forward to Friday mornings with Megan every week.  Makenna will begin preschool in the Fall and that is when we will begin the same tradition (except on a different day)

Gym 3x per week:  For the most part I have been very good at maintaining a schedule for the gym.  There have been a few weeks when I did not make it three times per week but when I factor in my indoor soccer games I am doing very well.  I love the way I feel, the shape that I am in, and how I look!

Read 2 books per week:  For the most part I have been doing very well at keeping to this goal.  This past week I hit Anne Jackson’s book Mad Church Disease again.  I know I read it only a couple months back but I felt as if I needed to reread this one to really grasp all that she wrote about establishing patterns in our lives to avoid burnout.  Along with this book I also read Wayne Cordeiro’s book, Leading on Empty.  As I now can say I know Wayne personally, I will say that this book is a very refreshing read.  Again, establishing patterns that will keep me from burning out is my desire as I truly want to serve in my calling as a pastor for the rest of my life.

Increase time spent mentoring next-gen leaders:  I have continued along in my Youth Ministry Mentor conversations every Thursday for an hour with a young man from Oregon and have greatly enjoyed our talks together.  Along with these times I am finding myself far more intentional about training up and explaining why we do things the way we do them with the student leaders we have at Impact.  I know I can always be doing more but maintaining balance in my life overall keeps me from over-emphasizing this goal.

Write a book on leadership and youth ministry:  I’m still taking notes and filing away many thoughts in one of my journals.  I’m still not sure if this will be the year or not but I do know that I am collecting quite a treasure chest of notes for when I do bite the bullet and w

One response to this post.

  1. Kevin you are an inspiration! How in the world (with as busy life as I know you have!) do you find time to read two books a week! I’m STILL working on the book you sent me! Admittedly I didn’t take it to Australia with me…. you must be a SPEED reader big time!

    Congrats on the bub news hey! I have been fully outa twitter loop so just seeing the news now.

    Onya

    Reply

Leave a Reply

