Integrating The Generations

c-baton-pass

Last night Roger Archer and Chad Veach from Puyallap, WA spoke at the 09 Foursquare Connection.  They spoke on the importance of integrating the next generation within the church and leadership.  

Challenged.  Challenged is how I feel right now.  Challenged because, while I believe whole-heartedly and passionately about doing this, I truly feel clueless.  I’ve read the books, I’ve heard the messages, I’ve even had it modeled for me; but I still feel like I miss the mark in doing this time and time again.  

I know I have been called to do this – to reach the next generation, pour into them all that has been poured into me, and release them to go and do the same.  Yet, I feel like I fail miserably at this.  I feel like I choose the wrong people to pour into.  I have been told by many that I have great wisdom and discernment and yet the people I do my best to disciple seem to fall like flies. 

I want to be more effective.  I want to make a true, lasting difference.  I want God’s glory to be expanded through the ministry that many young leaders will step into.  This morning my prayer is that the Lord would equip me and make me more effective for His Kingdom and not mine.

Lord, do it, please.

One response to this post.

  1. Thanks for the honesty. I struggle watching the sessions when the big churches with money talk about integrating generations. Then I realize that they hired a guy that was doing a fabulous job at another big church. I like your balance. I want to be challenged without feeling disillusioned…

    Andy Opie

    Reply

Leave a Reply

