Monday Morning Quarterback

mmqb

Here’s how the goals are going:

  • Time with family: I found some extra time to be with the kids this week as well as get some things done that needed to happen.  Makenna has taken to being my helper on Mondays as I am getting the hen house ready for our 6 chickens to move into.  It’s been a lot of fun seeing construction projects through the eyes of a five year old.  On Saturday both of the kids came with me to assist in the 30 Hour Famine with our Concord Area Youth Network and they were both a joy to be with and a real blessing for the youth that were there.  They pitched right in and helped out with the community service projects that we were working on.  I love being able to instill within my kids the value of serving and this turned into a great way to continue this effort.
  • Exercising: As I had just run a half marathon the Saturday prior I took it quite easy this week.  I did get out Thursday night and had a great time playing an hour of indoor soccer in the league that I play in.  Unfortunately I pulled a hamstring with my first warm up kick.  I have never experienced a pulled hamstring before and honestly – never want to again.  I’ve been icing and heating my leg the past few days and I’m ready to get out tomorrow to do some running.  I will be hitting the road and getting back into the swing of running again this week.    
  • Weight: last week – 193  this week – 196. The irony of a three pound gain is that I took part in the 30 Hour Famine this past weekend and went without food for 30 hours.  I would have thought that I would have stayed the same or last a couple more pounds.  Either way, I’m good with where I am at and will look to stay in a maintenance mode to stick around 195 for good.
  • Read Two Books Per Week:  I received the book The Hole In Our Gospel this week by Richard Stearns who is the president of World Vision.  With the 30 Hour Famine going on this past weekend which supports the financial needs of World Vision as well as my participation in the Darfur Fast For Life this week I felt it was very timely to read this.  I still haven’t finished the book but I am enjoying it greatly and look forward to completing it.  

That’s all for this weekly update.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Kevin Twombly on May 19, 2009 at 11:53 am

    @Stuart – gotta love bran!

    Reply

  2. Kev,

    About the weight thing. Eat a bran muffin, wait a few hours, those 3 lbs will be gone…

    Reply

  3. Thank you for commenting on Rich Stearns’ new book, The Hole in Our Gospel. This book has already had a tremendous impact on many Christians. Bill Hybels, Senior Pastor of Willow Creek Church, just bought 10,000 copies of the book to give to his congregation. Hybels told his church, “This is one of the finest books I have ever read. It is my goal to get every member of Willow Creek Church to read it.” To find out more information about the book and Stearns, you can visit http://www.theholeinourgospel.com. You’ll find on this site a lot of great resources and supplemental material to the book. You can also read Rich’s blog and engage in a forum discussion there. It’s a fantastic site – I encourage you to check it out!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

