Darfur Fast For Life

Picture 1

I first learned about some of what is going on in Sudan 3 years ago when I watched a documentary by Invisible Children.  As I watched this film in the privacy of my office I was brought through many emotions.  Anger, Hatred, Compassion, Sorrow, Fear, Joy, and Helplessness.  After watching the film I knew that there were things that I could do to help the millions of people who are suffering in IDP camps throughout Sudan.  I began showing the film to everyone who would take the time to watch it.  I hosted a screening at our church.  I spoke with young people about the role that they could play to make a difference in Sudan.  I have purchased t-shirts that send proceeds to the aid process, worn bracelets made by women in IDP camps, sent financial aid to help support students so that they would have a chance to receive an education.  I have read books that explain the history of the conflict, dig into the reasons for these incredible atrocities taking place.  I have written letters to my Senators, Representatives, and to the President as well.kids-on-mtn-2-small-300x225

There are days when I feel like nothing I do personally makes a difference.  There are still millions of people starving and dying while I live a very blessed life here in NH.  There is a vast ocean that separates the people of Sudan and myself and it seems to grow wider each day as there plight grows worse and I go on living my life.  I want to do more.  I want people to be aware of what is going on.  Even more than that, I want people to respond to this crisis.  I want people to be moved to action.  We can not just stand by and watch this happen.  In 1994 we, as Americans, stood by and did absolutely nothing as the mass genocide took place in Rwanda.  Unfortunately this is happening again with Darfur.mariam-and-child-300x225

That is why I will not eat.  I have thought about this for a while.  I heard of some the Fast for Life a while back through Twitter and then this morning was approached by a friend who is taking part in this fast next week.  Now, before the complaints come in about how Matthew 6 talks about fasting as a private matter between you and God I want to redirect what this is about.  This is less of a fast and more of a public awareness effort brought about through hunger strikes.  This fast is the only way that I think I could join in the suffering of the people of Darfur and raise awareness through this blog as well.  During these three days I will share my experiences with you all as I refrain from eating.  My hope is that I will be changed and moved to even more action through this effort.

Beginning Wednesday, May 20 and continuing through Friday, May 22 I will be fasting from all food and participating in a water only fast to help raise awareness of what is going on in Darfur.  I would encourage you to join me.  You can find out more information about this fast here.  Together we can make a difference.  Yes, I am one person who may not have a direct effect on what is happening, but if we each band together we can make things happen.  

Join me.  Make a difference.  Change the world with love…

Leave a Reply

