Monday Morning Quarterback

mmqb

Here’s how the goals are going:

  • Time with family: This was a great week with the kids.  We spent some good moments together.  It was quality time more than it was quantity time because it was a busy week for me but we had some really good conversations and lots of laughs.
  • Exercising: This week was the culmination of 4 months of training.  Saturday I ran my first half marathon and felt great doing it.  Even though I had been having troubles with shin splints I never experienced any pain throughout the complete race.  My time for the 13.1 miles was 2 hours and 33 minutes.  We averaged 10 minute miles with a few walks to keep stretched out.  Honestly, I had such a sense of joy as I crossed the finish line.  It was overwhelming!  
  • Weight: last week – 195  this week – 193. I’ve got to attribute the additional 2 pounds of weight loss to the 13 miles I ran on Saturday.  I’ll be looking to maintain the 195 weight because that is what I am comfortable with and I feel good at this weight.
  • Read Two Books Per Week:  This week I read The Monkey and The Fish by Dave Gibbons.  This book discusses the idea of being influential in the third culture and what it looks like to do this.  I also read Mad Church Disease by Anne Jackson.  This book was a great read that I am able to really take to heart.  Anne addressed burn out and the ways to remain balanced in ministry and life.  I’d recommend this book to anyone serving in ministry.
  • Monthly Date Night With Kim:  Even though we had our date night last week we also had a special dinner as a family in honor of Kim and the fact that she is the world’s greatest mother.  We went down to Bugaboo Creek in Bedford and ate a great meal while the moose on the wall talked throughout our meal and entertained the kids.

That’s all for this weekly update.

Leave a Reply

