40 Days of Water Wrap-up

bwm40days-1

Last night ended my 40 Days of Water journey.  I have tallied up my journal that I have kept and am completely amazed at how much I have raised by not purchasing coffee, soda, juice and other beverages for 40 days.  The hardest part of this journey was the first 10 days as I was coming off of the caffeine that I would normally ingest in my first two cups of coffee each morning.

As the 40 days went on I began to connect with others who were inspired to look for simple ways to help others.  The barista at Starbucks who rang up my purchase of water and a banana every Tuesday morning as I journal there, has begun to help collect food for the local food pantry to help families in need of nutritious meals.  

For me, going these past 40 days with only water for a beverage has been great to help me see that when I put my mind to something I can make it happen.  There were mornings where I was tempted to cheat but I was able to overcome the temptation.  I kept a picture in my Bible of a small child from Rwanda that has to go without access to clean water every day and that was a constant reminder of the impact my sacrifice can make.

So, the check has been written to Blood:Water Mission for $125.25 and now, if you don’t mind, I’m going to help myself to a HUGE cup of Pike’s Place Roast!

Leave a Reply

