Monday Morning Quarterback

mmqb

Here’s how the goals are going:

  • Time with family: With us being down to a one car family currently we ended up spending all kinds of time together.  Overall it was a great week.  The girls are fun to play with and story time at night is priceless with them.  
  • Exercising: I was able to hit the road for some outdoor runs 3 times this week.  I’ve been feeling a bit discouraged because of some pain in my lower legs.  Shin Splints is what I have and I am none too happy about it.  I’ve been icing my legs and stretching frequently to try and ease the soreness.  Overall for the week I got in 12 miles which is completely out of line with where I want to be for the 1/2 marathon training.  May 9th is coming quickly and I’m getting less comfortable with being ready for it.
  • Weight: last week – 210  this week – 198. I feel really good about this overall.  Especially when you factor in our Saturday night dinner at Gaucho’s in Manchester.  That place was a non-stop meat fest!  If you are ever in NH and need to load up on meat you HAVE to eat at Gaucho’s.  (Just remember to wear your stretchy pants!)
  • Read Two Books Per Week:  This was a great week for reading.  I received a couple books for free from various publishing houses that I will be reviewing in the next couple of days.  The books were Not Everyone Gets a Trophy by Bruce Tulgan and Put Your Dream To The Test by John Maxwell.  Each book was worth the read.  I’ll save commentary for the reviews that will be posted later this week.
  • Monthly Date Night With Kim: As I stated above, we went to Gaucho’s for dinner on Saturday night.  We were joined by 3 other couples and we had an absolute blast!  I’ve never sat in a restaurant for almost 3 hours eating food and laughing and not felt guilty for taking the table for that amount of time.  The time flew by and we all greatly enjoyed the night.  One of the best “dates” that Kim and I have gone on in a while.
  • Vacation at the beach:  As we had a change of plans for April vacation with me heading to Jamaica with or youth mission team now we have begun looking at some affordable houses to rent at the beach.  It’s looking like our vacation the week after leading the NNE4 Youth Camp will be spent relaxing on the beach.  I’ll be looking forward to reading books in the sand and searching for shells and crabs in the rocky areas along the shore.  It’s going to be a great time!

That’s all for this weekly update.  More next week!

Leave a Reply

