Monday Morning Quarterback

mmqb

Here’s how the goals are going:

  • Time with family: I tried to increase my time at home with the family this week.  It went so-so.  We did have a great dinner on Monday night as we celebrated our 14th wedding anniversary by going out as a family.  The kids enjoyed going with us.  On Thursday we had a good time together as well.  
  • Exercising: I made it to the gym 3 times last week. Total running distance this week was 20 miles.  This coming week I will begin a 6 day per week running schedule with all the miles coming from outdoor running.  I have to begin aggressively logging miles to be ready for the 1/2 marathon on May 9th.  I’ll be the first to admit that I don’t feel ready at all.
  • Weight: last week – 199  this week – 201. It probably didn’t help that I attended a weekend camp with a group of 30 teens and felt the need to eat extra portions to keep my energy up.  I was able to keep pace with them and their caffeine induced energy but I feel bloated now…
  • Read Two Books Per Week:  Two books this week – This is Your Brain on Joy and Death by Love.  I wrote a review for the first book here.  The second book, Death by Love by Mark Driscoll was a great read.  As a pastor I appreciated the voice that this book was written in.  I am quite sure that many people will enjoy this read and gain great insight into the work of Jesus and the sacrifice that He made for each of us.
  • Monthly Date Night With Kim: We actually had a family date to celebrate our 14th anniversary.  It was a good time and the money we spent on the kids food was less than what a babysitter would have cost!
  • April Vacation in Philadelphia:  This plan has officially changed.  I will be heading to Jamaica instead during this time frame to help lead a youth mission trip.  I’m excited to be joining this team and look forward to seeing many teens be used by God to impact this beautiful island.  Kim and I have begun to look into a beach house to stay at in July.  This will be a great time with the family and will provide the girls with plenty of time to find shells in the sand.

That’s all for this weekly update.  More next week!

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Louise Germain on March 31, 2009 at 2:24 pm

    OK Kevin, after Gauchos this weekend it looks like you’ll be running twice a day seven days a week. I promise you that it will be worth it though.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

