My Life Would Suck Without YOU v.2

My life truly would suck without God.  Looking back there have been many times when He has pulled me out of the misery that I brought upon myself because of doing life “my way.”  I can only imagine where I would be if the following example ended with me ignoring God’s leading…

It was 13 years ago that I was working at a restaurant and feeling over-worked and under-paid when I began to take money from the nightly deposits.  Over the course of 9 months I had accumulated somewhere around ten thousand dollars.  It was one day when I was hiking the Presidential Range and I was looking deeply at where my life had brought me to that I re-encountered God.  It was on top of Mt. Jefferson that I heard the voice of God speaking so clearly to my spirit.  “You screwed up, go home and fix it.”  And I did.  The next day I went in to work and called in my District Manager and shared my whole story with him.  The police were involved and then the State of NH got involved and then 10 months later I found myself in jail.jefferson-mt001

Now, I could have easily turned away from God.  I could have used that time as an excuse to blame God for messing up my life.  But I didn’t.  I chose to follow God even closer.  I chose to commit my life to His service.  I knew that He had called me to be a youth pastor years before but I had walked away.  It was at that time that I answered His call.  For the past 11 years I have been able to pastor youth at GCC.  I wouldn’t change it for anything.  My prayer is that at age 75 I will continue to  have an influence in youth ministry.

This time in my life was very difficult to walk through.  I knew what I had to do and I knew where God was calling me to.  The consequences of my actions and choices led me into quite a pit.  I feel like David as he wrote Psalm 40 throughout this experience.

I waited patiently for the LORD; 
       he turned to me and heard my cry. He lifted me out of the slimy pit, 
       out of the mud and mire; 
       he set my feet on a rock 
       and gave me a firm place to stand.

 He put a new song in my mouth, 
       a hymn of praise to our God. 
       Many will see and fear 
       and put their trust in the LORD.

I have seen God use my past, my struggles, and my embarrassment to reveal even more of His glory to those around me. 

How has God pulled you out of a poor choice?

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by kim on March 22, 2009 at 6:45 pm

    and we are blessed too by Chris and Becky

    Reply

  2. Posted by Chris Mogee on March 21, 2009 at 7:21 am

    OK, so I will be the first.

    My life would totally suck without God. The year of 2006 was the year I would never want to ever relive. I in my own selfish way and own selfish choices decided to make some real poor decisions. As Kevin, I too made some decisions that led me to that self-induced pit. As a result, my marriage of 13 years at that time was almost over.

    God is truly in the business of miracle making. In August of 2006, I pretty much decided that I was going to walk away from my wife and 3 kids. I was so disheartened but I made every reason in my mind that it was the right thing to do. Before I was to leave, I decided to give God one last chance. I pretty much had it out with God that morning and told him that if He didnt show me something from his Word, then I was so done.

    Picking up a “Daily Bread” devotional booklet, I turned to August 24, 2006, and it took me to 2 Corinthians 12 where I read:

    Therefore, in order to keep me from becoming conceited, I was given a thorn in my flesh, a messenger of Satan, to torment me. Three times I pleaded with the Lord to take it away from me. But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong.

    In so many tears I began to finally feel the love that I never felt before. Minutes later, I heard my 4 year old son at that time begin to sing the words from his bedroom, “I am free to run, I am free to dance, I am free to live for you, I am free.”

    I really believe in miracles, because I truly believe that God sent me an angel to work through my own son in order to speak to me. My wife and I have now been married for 15 years, and each day I want to continue to grow in my relationship with her.

    There are some days that are still hard because of the past, but I know that with God I can do all things.

    “Father my life would truly suck without You, and right now I pray that you would help me to continue to press through so that I may win the race. I love You so much. Continue to heal the hurt, but help me to continue to serve you each day.”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

