Monday Morning Quarterback

mmqb

Here’s how the goals are going:

  • Time with family: This was another busy week.  I attended a Men’s Retreat Friday evening and Saturday and then had a meeting that lasted all afternoon on Sunday so I didn’t get much quality OR quantity time with the family this week.  I’m looking to change that this week and I am arranging my schedule to accommodate more time with them.  I know that when I miss time with them they feel the same way and I can’t let that happen two weeks in a row.
  • Exercising: 3 times last week to the gym. Total running distance this week was 25 miles.  I still haven’t found a good stretch for my lower legs and the result is some real stiffness in my shins when running on the treadmill.  I really need to make research on stretches a priority to improve that way I feel when I finish my runs.
  • Weight: last week – 199  this week – 198. While participating in the 40 Days of Water I am craving food.  I think the coffee drinking that used to fill my days is what I am missing most but I seem to have an increased appetite that I try to keep in check but I have been eating much more.  The unfortunate part of that is that just thinking about food can add some pounds to my weight.
  • Read Two Books Per Week:  Only one book this week.  I picked up an advanced copy of Andy Stanley’s new book, The Principle of the Path.  This book addresses direction for life and the discipline needed to get where you want to be.  Bottom line:  Andy Stanley wrote it – you should read it.
  • Monthly Date Night With Kim: The plans have been made for our March date night and the babysitter has been secured.  I really have enjoyed the intentionality of making these monthly dates happen and Kim and I are definitely better connected because of them.
  • April Vacation in Philadelphia:  We may be tweaking these plans to adjust our budget for a rental property at the beach in July or August.  The interest in Philadelphia for the kids is waning and I won’t enjoy the drive there nearly as much if the kids aren’t looking forward to the destination.  The beach would be a lot of fun with the girls and I could work on stuff around the house in April instead of traveling.  We’ll see…

That’s all for this weekly update.  More next week!

Leave a Reply

