Monday Morning Quarterback

mmqb

Here’s how the goals are going:

  • Time with family: It was a good week.  Had some great time with Megan on Friday morning – we do every Friday (Daddy Date) but this week was particularly good.  She is starting to get more talkative with me about things in her life.  Saturday we spent some extra time together and snuck away to Panera for a snack.  She loves the alone time with me because she doesn’t have to compete with her little sister for attention…
  • Exercising: 2 times last week to the gym but I also got out on the slopes with some old friends for a day of snowboarding.  Plenty of exercise that day.  Favorite moment of the day on the slopes – after lunch the 2 other guys (same age as me) were complaining about sore legs, I felt great and was ready for another 4 hours of riding.  Conditioning definitely pays off!  Due to the no run day on Monday I only racked up 10 miles last week.  Still feel great though. 
  • Weight: last week – 200  this week – 199.  A pound is a pound.  Probably didn’t help that Margaret served up some sweet chicken wraps at Impact this week.  Total lost so far is 16 pounds. 
  • Read Two Books Per Week:  I shall refer to this week as the “Week of the Afro.”  This week I dug into some deep reading with Democracy Matters by Cornel West and Outliers by Malcolm Gladwell.  In commenting on Democracy Matters I will say it was far above my reading level.  While I consider myself intelligent I will admit to running to the dictionary frequently to bring clarity to his word choice.  It almost got to the point of frustration.  Seriously Cornel, if you really want people to read your books and enjoy them, dumb down your speech to at least a grad-school level!  My other reading choice was much more enjoyable.  Malcolm Gladwell won my reading interest with his previous edition, The Tipping Point, and with the newest release from him I am just as thrilled.  This is a great read that explores the differences between people who succeed and those who don’t.  He digs into the small advantages that some have that help propel them to success in their ventures.  The little bits of random trivia interspersed within the book were reason enough to read this one.  I feel like I am armed with that much more useless trivia to wow friends with at parties.  “Did you know that most pro hockey players were born in January?”  You do now…
  • Stop Checking Email on Days Off and Holidays/Vacations:  My schedule got a bit mixed up this week with my preparation for preaching on Sunday and a few unplanned situations that needed to be addressed.  Due to this I will admit to checking email at unplanned times to stay in the loop on a few things.  I promise I’ll do better!

That’s all for this weekly update.  More next week!

Leave a Reply

