Monday Morning Quarterback

mmqb

Here’s how the goals are going:

  • Time with family: Doing well.  Had a great time with the kids – even played “little pet shops” with the kids one day.  Family dinners are really cherished by me as that is a time when we get to reconnect and catch up on the events of the day.  
  • Exercising: 3 times last week. Another long distance day on Monday with 9.5 miles.  All together I cleared 20 miles last week. 
  • Weight: last week – 203  this week – 200.  Another 3 pounds!  I’m actually getting comments from friends now that I am looking thinner and have inspired a few people to get back on track.  Total lost so far is 15 pounds and I am proud of that!
  • Monthly Date Night with Kim:  I know it may seem cliche but we went out for Valentines Day dinner.  The youth at our church were doing a fundraiser for a mission trip to Jamaica so it worked great for me with arranging a babysitter.  Dinner was great and we are feeling even more well connected than ever.  Our conversations have been fantastic when we make the time to be together.  I love my wife and these date nights have been incredible to keep us growing together.
  • Read Two Books Per Week:  I re-read Next Generation Leader – this is one that I pull from my bookshelf yearly.  Great insight that I can always draw from.  I did not get to a second book this week though.  Kim and I spent a bit more time in front of the tube – I’ll never give up on Heroes or The Office – sorry!
  • Stop Checking Email on Days Off and Holidays/Vacations:  Still going well.  This truly has become a structured safety net for me in valuing my time with family.  I know that I am greatly appreciating the time with my kids and I think they feel the same way!

That’s all for this weekly update.  More next week!

Leave a Reply

