Our God is the God Who Sings

I was driving in to the gym this morning and the Chris Tomlin song, Let God Arise, was jamming on the radio.  Here’s the words:

Hear the holy roar of God resound
Watch the waters part before us now
Come and see what He has done for us
Tell the world of His great love

Our God is a God who saves
Our God is a God who saves

Let God arise
Let God arise
Our God reigns now and forever
He reigns now and forever

His enemies will run for sure
The church will stand, she will endure
He holds the keys of life, our Lord
Death has no sting, no final word

In my excitement as I was singing along to this song I messed up the words.  The bridge says, “Our God is a God who saves” but I flubbed it up and sang, very loudly I might add, “Our God is a God who sings”.  I found myself actually feeling silly for messing up the words and at that exact moment it was as if God corrected my thinking and reminded me that yes, indeed, He does sing.  He sings over us!

Zephaniah 3:17 says,     aguaverdesunrise002

 

Your GOD is present among you,
a strong Warrior there to save you.
Happy to have you back, he’ll calm you with his love
and delight you with his songs.

 

I love how that verse stabilizes me in the midst of life.  God is with me and He not only calms me but He sings over me to bring me delight!

Go ahead.  mess up the words as you sing this song next time.  And understand that He sings does sing.  He sings to bring you joy and peace.  You are loved by Him and  nothing, not even a messed up lyric, will take that away.

Leave a Reply

