Monday Morning Quarterback

mmqb

Here’s how the goals are going:

  • Time with family: This week was a bit disjointed with a few things that took the place of home life.  Important things none the less.  Thursday evening I attended the funeral of a good friend and pastor up in Vermont.  This was a beautiful service and his life was truly honored by the amazing turnout that they had.  I did spend some time with the kids on hikes this week.  Saturday I blazed a trail with my snowshoes to make the hiking easier for the girls and their little legs and Sunday we walked for an hour and a half out in the woods.  They did a great job and we got to sight a few deer and were the few that were able to see what our beaver pond looks like in the winter.
  • Exercising: 3 times last week.  I began changing up my workout a bit by including a long day on Mondays.  Between the 8 miles that I did that day and the other 2 days I cleared 18 miles last week. 
  • Weight: last week – 205  this week – 203.  Another 2 pounds!  Slow and steady wins the race.  It helps that Kim has been real supportive of my efforts and is making some great meals for the family that keep my goals in mind.
  • Monthly Date Night with Kim:  I already have February’s date on the calendar and have secured a babysitter.  We’re gonna have a great time – it’s one of Kim’s favorite places.
  • Increase Time Spent Mentoring Next-Gen Leaders:  Had my first mentoring phone call with Luke this past week.  We started by connecting and getting to know each other a bit more.  Each week we will address an area that he has identified that he needs help on.  Along with this we are working through the book Ministry Mutiny by Greg Stier.  This is a great book as it addresses philosophy of ministry more than a step by step how-to.
  • Read Two Books Per Week:  I read Greg Stier’s book Dare to Share which is written more for teens who want to be equipped better to share their faith.  As I am gearing up to begin STAND, our discipleship class, with the youth at Impact I thought it would be a good resource to draw from.  Along with that book I have been chipping away at Axiom by Bill Hybels.  Great book full of bits of wisdom.  In addition to these 2 books I also got away for a bit on Saturday evening and watched Gran Torino with a good friend, Mike Mavity.  I won’t give too many movie endorsements but this is one that is a must see.  Honestly, this is the best movie I have seen in years and far exceeds anything Clint Eastwood has put out ever.  Go see it.
  • Stop Checking Email on Days Off and Holidays/Vacations:  Living large.  If you want to reach me in the evenings or on the weekend you better be calling me.  I won’t be checking or responding to email.  My family time is too important to lose my focus when I am with them.  You should do the same.  Your family will thank you for it…

That’s all for this weekly update.  More next week!

Leave a Reply

