Two Things

 

prosperity0909

    “Two things I ask of you, LORD; 
       do not refuse me before I die:

     Keep falsehood and lies far from me; 
       give me neither poverty nor riches, 
       but give me only my daily bread.

     Otherwise, I may have too much and disown you 
       and say, ‘Who is the LORD?’ 
       Or I may become poor and steal, 
       and so dishonor the name of my God.

These verses have been ones that I have been wrestling with lately.  Two things that we can ask of God, that he not give us too much nor too little.  This is so contrary to the belief that some hold of wanting God to bless us beyond measure.  I love the phrase, “but give me only my daily bread.”  That is all we truly need.  Provision to get through each day.  Reading through Exodus I see how the Lord provided manna for each day.  Whatever was gathered that was above their need for the day was rotted the next morning.  

God wants to bless us, but not to the point of excess.  God wants to provide for us, but not to the point where we begin to feel as though we have done great things for ourselves.  There is a dependance on God that comes in receiving just what we need.  That is what I desire.  Nothing more, nothing less.

May you find satisfaction in the simple reliance on God for everything that you need today.  In your excess bless others.  In your need, may others bless you.

Leave a Reply

