Monday Morning Quarterback

mmqb

Okay, so it’s more like Monday Evening Quarterback today.  Cut me some slack, I’ve been sleeping all day due to some sort of stomach bug.  This past week was fantastic.  Along with some of my personal goals we also had a season of prayer at our church and that time together praying with so many was not only encouraging but also faith building.  I’m looking forward to the next time we do that in April!  Here’s how the goals are going:

  • Time with family: It was a great week.  I made it home for dinner a few times and spent time playing with the girls.  In addition to that Kim was away over the weekend leading a Girls Retreat so I was able to play Mr. Mom all weekend.  Aside from messing their hair up for church on Sunday we had a great time together. Megan continues to lead the household at wii bowling and has passed into PRO status.  A feat that she is very proud of…
  • Exercising: 3 times last week.  14.5 miles total for my running.  I am starting to get into the groove with it and had two great days with 4 miles in under 37 minutes.  My goal is to hit 5 miles per day in 45 minutes which, at the rate that I am running right now, is achievable.
  • Weight: last week – 215  this week – 210.  5 pounds!  I’m thrilled and I am actually noticing my pants feeling looser at the waist line.  This was really encouraging.
  • Monthly Date Night with Kim:  I have a babysitter lined up for Friday and we are hitting a nice Italian place and then a movie.  Hoping I can talk her into seeing Gran Torino with Clint Eastwood – it looks real good.
  • Increase Time Spent Mentoring Next-Gen Leaders:  I have chosen the next young man that I will spend ten weeks mentoring and will be making contact with him tomorrow morning.  I’m excited for what this will bring in his life as well as the growth that comes in me personally as I strive to better equip him in Youth Ministry.  You can read more about the Youth Ministry Mentorship here.  This past week I was able to spend a significant amount of time finalizing all that will be incorporated into  STAND, our new attempt at relational discipleship at Impact. This begins next week and I am praying that the youth at GCC that partake in this will see some incredible spiritual growth take place in their lives over the next three months.
  • Read Two Books Per Week:  This week I read Sustainable Youth Ministry by Mark Devries and began Reality Check by Guy Kawasaki.  This one is a large book and will most likely carry on into midweek this week.  I received my Catalyst Filter Box on Wednesday and in it were several new books that I look forward to reading in the near future.  One of which is Run With The Bulls Without Getting Trampled, by Tim Irwin.
  • Stop Checking Email on Days Off and Holidays/Vacations:  Much to the chagrin or some who expect instant replies from me I have been very good about this.  To the point of actually only checking my email three times per day in the office.  I have also begun leaving my laptop at the office Tuesday thru Thursday nights which has dramatically changed my attention level at home.  It has also lowered my stress level and helped me sleep better.  This is one habit that I will definitely stick with!

That’s all for this weekly update.  More next week!

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Jorgen on January 28, 2009 at 12:13 pm

    that is great! I love these updates but specially the part of loosing weight.. its encouraging to me and something I need to get off my butt to do as well.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

