Monday Morning Quarterback

mmqb

Recapping the week that has past with my overall personal goals in mind I would say it was a win.  While some additional stress has been brought into my life with some decisions to be made and prayers that I need to have answered it has been a good week.  Here’s how the goals are going:

  • Time with family: I made it home for dinner several nights last week and enjoyed some really good family time.  Over the weekend I went for a hike in the newly fallen snow with the girls and got to break out my snowshoes.  Not only did we have a blast playing hide & seek in the woods but we were active as well.
  • Exercising: 3 times last week.  I’m getting into a pretty good routine at the gym going Monday, Wednesday, and Friday mornings.  This will continue to be work for me for quite a while but I am enjoying the extra energy that comes with an active life.  My time in the office has been more productive and my mind seems to be working better.  I nailed 12 miles for the week doing 4 miles per day and have increased my repetitions in sit-ups, push-ups, & chin-ups.  Not many aches so I know I need to increase more this week.
  • Weight: last week – 215  this week – 215.  No loss but I am consoling myself with the understanding that fat is turning to muscle and muscle weighs more…  I have decreased my caloric intake significantly and have increased my water intake to over 100 ounces per day – that also increased my trips to the bathroom by 50% but you really didn’t care to know that I am sure!
  • Running a 1/2 marathon by July:  I registered for the Big Lake Half Marathon Friday night.  There’s no turning back now.  May 9th I will be running my first 1/2 marathon.  You can read more about that here.
  • Monthly Date Night with Kim:  working it.  Looking to line up a babysitter tomorrow so that we can go out for dinner and a movie next week.
  • Increase Time Spent Mentoring Next-Gen Leaders:  You can read more about that here and if you are a youth leader with less than two years of experience you can even jump in and apply.  I’ll begin the next round of mentoring a rookie youth leader in February.  The beginning of February is also when we begin STAND, our new attempt at relational discipleship at Impact.  I’ve been spending quite a bit of time planning this and I am looking forward to the fruit that will come from it.
  • Read Two Books Per Week:  This week was “Do Hard Things” and “The Dip.”  Both very good books.  We’ll be using Do Hard Things as part of STAND.  I think young people really do need to be challenged to do more with their lives than view the teen years as a time to enjoy, relax, and be waited on.  I like the message of personal expectations being raised for young people!  The Dip addressed the things in life that need to be quit in order to make the right things succeed.  There are projects and goals in each of our lives that either need to be pushed through or quit.  Some pushing will never lead to success and some will.  The important things to identify is what needs to be continued and what needs to be quit.
  • Sponsor a Rwandan Child:  Done.  The girls sat with Kim last week and picked out a young girl who they will help receive an education.  My hope is that they will make the most of the correspondence that they will have with this young girl and learn about a new culture as well as gaining a new understanding of how much they can help others with personal sacrifice.

That’s all for this weekly update.  More next week!

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by revkevgcc on January 21, 2009 at 3:32 pm

    @Dennis – Thanks! I am realizing without the accountability of “going public” with my goals I’ll just fall into default mode.

    Reply

  2. This is a great way to evaluate yourself and keep yourself accountable. I might have to start doing this, too. I’m praying that you meet your personal goals. Keep it up!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

