2009 Personal Goals

goals

Every year I make a list of goals that I have for the new year.  Yesterday during our services, the last Sunday of 2008, we recounted where we have been and looked to the new year for things that we are setting as ministry goals.  I have 2 new focuses that I want to make happen this year at Impact.  You can hear them here.

Above and beyond ministry goals I believe personal goals are healthy.  Without a clearly defined goal there is no real telling as to where you are headed.  It was Abraham Lincoln that said,

If we could first know where we are, and whither we are tending, we could better judge what to do and how to do it.

When I set goals I know how to plan my time and finances to reach for what I want to accomplish.  With the end in mind I can plan my journey.  Here is what I am looking to accomplish over the next year:

 

  • Use all of my vacation time
  • Hike 5 more NH 4000 footers 
  • Travel with the family to Philadelphia in April
  • Run a 1/2 marathon by July
  • Weight -195, current – 215
  • Monthly date night with Kim
  • Increase financial support to Global Benefit/Smyths
  • Sponsor 1 Rwandan child 
  • Stop checking email on days off and holidays/vacations
  • Have more fun with the girls -play games, walks, talks
  • Take more pictures 
  • Continue Daddy Dates with Megan every Friday morning
  • Gym 3x per week
  • Read 2 books per week
  • Increase time spent mentoring next-gen leaders
  • Write a book on leadership and youth ministry

 

I like accountability.  I like people to ask me how I am doing on different things that they know I am working on.  When others know what I am trying to accomplish and ask me about how it is coming it keeps me from slacking or choosing to put things off until later.  

Feel free to ask me how I am doing with these goals when you see me.  I enjoy the idea of accountability.

4 responses to this post.

  1. You should come to Nashville for the Country Music Marathon! It’s in April… it’s been on my ‘gunna-do’ list for the last two years!

    Reply

  2. How are you doing?

    J/k, but it’s funny how I make goals for myself and then I make excuses for why I don’t currently work on meeting them, because I’m waiting for Jan 1. Of course, that is a holiday, so I’ll start on the 2nd. Then the weekend is here, so I’ll wait until Monday….(These excuses especially apply to items such as losing weight)

    It’s a great list. I share several of them with you.

    Reply

  3. Posted by kim on December 29, 2008 at 8:29 pm

    I will hold you accountable for those date nights- i have almost forgotten what it is like to be romanced…

    Reply

  4. Posted by Will on December 29, 2008 at 6:12 pm

    dude you are ambitious!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

