Merry Christmas

This morning was different.  This morning the kids woke up and then woke me up (Kim was already downstairs getting dinner ready).  We sat around the tree and opened up a few small presents.  The onslaught of wrapping paper was minimal this year.  Part of the morning was a disappointment because the excitement of ripping into presents was short lived.  

I think this post is more for me today.  I feel like I needed to view this video and see the faces of those who have been blessed by my sacrifice (and the sacrifice of many others) again to recalibrate my thinking and gain the right perspective once again.  I am thankful that we don’t have credit card debt going into the new year because of excessive spending on gifts.  I am thankful that this year we were able to be generous to many others in our giving.  I am thankful that my family has a greater perspective on the world around us.  I am also thankful that there are many families in Rwanda that have and will continue to have access to fresh, safe, clean water.

n583905719_4851667_7706

I pray that each of you have a fantastic day, whether you are at home, traveling to see family or serving in a shelter or soup kitchen.  Merry Christmas to you all.  I also pray that each of you have found new ways to creatively meet the needs of others around you.  May this Christmas be a season that is less about blessing yourself and more about how you can be a blessing to those who have so little.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Jeff Cerow on December 25, 2008 at 11:49 am

    Great reminder to what is important (treasures in heaven). Enjoy your time together today with your family. Merry Christmas!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Elizabeth Stone on December 25, 2008 at 10:32 am

    Wow….
    PK, thanks so much for sharing this video! It really blew me away……

    Reply

Leave a Reply

