Earl

earl

A couple of weeks ago I wrote about how much I love what I do.  Last week while at Disney World we spent some time at Downtown Disney.  While trying to avoid the rain that was falling that morning we ducked into Goofy’s Candy Shop and met Earl.  Earl is from New York and loves all things Disney.  Earl also loves making sweets.

Have you ever sat and watched someone work before?  I don’t mean like a state worker that leans on a shovel as others work around him, I mean actually watched someone work?  I stood for about 10 minutes watching Earl prepare chocolate covered cookies.  He actually brought a smile to my face.  Earl loves what he does!  He was smiling and softly laughing as he tucked the chocolate covered cookie into a bed of M&M’s.  He treated each cookie as if it were a new born baby, gently tucking it into it’s candy coating covers.

Kim thought I was nuts to watch the guy work for as long as I did and to be honest it may have started to creep out Earl when I started taking pictures of him as he worked.  I couldn’t help it.  Watching Earl enjoy the work that he was doing brought joy to me.  

On that same day I had journaled in Philemon verse 7

Your love has given me great joy and encouragement because you, brother, have refreshed the hearts of the Lord’s people.

Now, I know that Earl was just making cookies with chocolate and M&M’s but there was something spiritual going on as I watched him work.  He knew that what he did mattered and he did it with great care.  He knew that the people who ordered those cookies were expecting something great – and Earl gave them something great.  Not just a cookie, but the joy of seeing someone who loved doing what they do.

I pray that each of you enjoy what you do.  I pray that you find great satisfaction in the work that you find yourself at this week.  I also pray that if you do not, that you would find something in your life that you could do that would bring you joy; that you would serve in an area that you are passionate about.  Here’s to you Earl! For the simple reminder that what we do matters to someone.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Carla Fowler on December 17, 2008 at 3:42 pm

    Great article Kevin. Sounds like you guys had a blast!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Tina Greco on December 17, 2008 at 1:10 pm

    Watch it! I’m a state worker who loves what she does. HAHA!

    Reply

  3. a great reminder! (and yes it is a little creepy to just watch someone work and then start taking pictures of them) 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

