Like What You Do

love_small

I’ve been thinking about the idea of personal satisfaction and job satisfaction and looking at where the two meet.  Over the past few months I have been reconnecting with some old friends from high school and sharing with them what I do.  It’s encouraging to hear of so many people that are interested in my choice of career.  I’ve been sharing with them my role and how I truly love what I do and would not change it for anything.  The responses from some have been mixed about their own careers.  Some are happy with what they are doing others wish they had gone down a different path in life.

The same people who have mentioned the idea of wanting a change also seem much less satisfied with their life in general.  There is a book that I recently finished reading – Tribes by Seth Godin.  In the book he writes about people who have a voice in their field.  People who like what they do because they are heard by others that they work with and are able to speak creatively into change in their workplace.  He writes:

It turns out that people who like their jobs the most are also the ones who are doing the best work, making the greatest impact, and changing the most.  Changing the way they see the world, sure, but also changing the world.  By challenging the status quo, a cadre of heretics is discovering that one person, just one, can make a huge difference.

I think that truly sums up why I so love what I do.  I really do feel as though what I am a part of is making a difference in the region that I am in but also at a global level.  Over the past year and a half I have been spreading the word about the need for clean water in developing countries.  We have targeted the country of Rwanda, Africa to help save lives by drilling clean water wells throughout that nation.  As the word has spread I have seen many teenagers realize that they too could do something to make a difference.  One young man organized a walk-a-thon at his middle school and raised $5000 to help drill a well.  Another young girl invited people to her birthday party and asked that no gifts be given to her but instead to bring cash donations to be sent to help drill clean water wells – she was able to send over $500 to help provide clean water.  Another young lady organized a pancake breakfast at a local restaurant and raised over $400 all the while mobilizing a whole group of teens to help with the dishes and serving.

By sharing my passion I have been able to have a ripple effect within the place that I live that has made a global difference.  At the same time I have been able to share the hope of Jesus with young people in our local region by offering to help in our public schools when needs arise.  A month ago a female student at one of the high schools in my area was killed in an automobile accident.  This was a young girl who was loved by many.  I spent the next day at the school and was able to help many process through this tragedy.  Many teens were open to prayer and experienced the peace that Jesus brings to them – peace that passes all understanding.

I think that is why I love what I do.  I know that what I do is making a difference.  I can see the lives of many people who are effected by the way I can serve them.  There is a quote by Helen Keller that I have come to love:

I am only one, but still I am one. I cannot do everything, but still I can do something; and because I cannot do everything, I will not refuse to do something that I can do.

I pray that we all can find meaning and purpose in the things that we do and truly say that, “I love what I do!” to anyone that asks and mean it.  

May you find that something that you can do and do it well.

Leave a Reply

