Instead of a Show

This post may offend some.  I’ve got to stick to my guns in how I believe so I make no apologies.  I’ll just quote a little Billy Joel: “You may be right, I may be crazy, but I just may be the lunatic you’re looking for.”

I received an email the other day about a Bible Reading Marathon that will take place on the steps of the NH State Capitol Building.  The thought behind this event is based on Isaiah 55:11

My Word…shall not return unto Me void but it shall accomplish that which I please, and it shall prosper in the thing whereto I sent it.

It’s a great Scripture and I agree with the Scripture in the sense that when I sit down and read God’s Word I will be changed.  When I open myself up to what God’s Word is saying to me it will not return void.  However, reading the Bible is NOT a magic spell that you can recite in a public place to change the hearts of those who walk by and hear it.  All this amounts to is a public spectacle that will again play the us vs. them game.

Here’s the plan:

What’s It All About? The Bible Reading Marathon (BRM) goal is to give glory to God. BRM is a way that the Holy Spirit can witness to those who read God’s Word, while others are blessed as they hear it being read. BRM call our attention to the fact that God has esteemed HIS WORD even above HIS Name [Psalms 138:2]. It is the Bible that clearly reveals who God is, as well as who we are — lost sinners who can receive eternal life and a home in Heaven when we receive Jesus Christ as our personal Savior and Lord of our lives. This BRM ends the day before the Presidential Election, prayer can change the Heavenlies for the election outcome. 

I love the Bible.  I spend time daily reading and journaling through God’s Word in order to apply it to my life.  I know the transforming power of the Word of God.  I have experienced it personally and see it actively working in the lives of many people.  But this is not how it’s done.  I understand this is an attempt to bring people into alignment with the Word of God before the elections take place as this is scheduled to take place October 28 – November 3 each day from 6am to 8pm.  It’s a valiant but misguided effort. Yes, I would recommend getting many people to read God’s Word.  But do it for personal growth.  Do it in a way that will lead to change within the readers heart.  Sit quietly and ask God to open His truth to each of you as you read His Word.

There is a fantastic Scripture that addresses what this event measures up to.  You can find it in Amos 5:21-24

 

I hate all your show and pretense—
the hypocrisy of your religious festivals and solemn assemblies.
I will not accept your burnt offerings and grain offerings.
I won’t even notice all your choice peace offerings.
Away with your noisy hymns of praise!
I will not listen to the music of your harps.
Instead, I want to see a mighty flood of justice,
an endless river of righteous living.
My prayer is that we spend more time living our lives in a way that shows the personal transformation of God’s Word in us.  That there would be a flood of justice in our community and beyond.  That we would each do our part in living responsibly and caring for each and every person around us – regardless of political affiliation, race, religion or economic status.
So, don’t show up at the State House.  Just read your Bible and let what you read work in your life then go and live justly all the days of your life…
6 responses to this post.

  1. Whoo hoo! Preach it!

    I totally agree with you man. When will Christians realize that we can accomplish so much more through our selfless acts of giving and service than we will ever accomplish through protests and rallies.

    I’ve been thinking a lot about this verse for a while:

    “But he’s already made it plain how to live, what to do, what God is looking for in men and women. It’s quite simple: Do what is fair and just to your neighbor, be compassionate and loyal in your love, And don’t take yourself too seriously—take God seriously. ” (Micah 6:8)

    I think we’ll get a lot further living out those simple truths.

    Reply

  2. Posted by stuartdelony on October 27, 2008 at 11:22 pm

    I am deeply offended!

    Oh man, I can’t keep a straight face typing this… I’m kidding.

    Right on man..

    Reply

  3. Posted by dale darrah on October 25, 2008 at 9:09 pm

    I genuinely agree with your blog and find that the Amos scripture needs to be applied in so many circumstances. to worship the Lord is an awesome thing and people need to worship from their soul and mean it and live it. you can not force this you can only plant the seed. we must open our arms to the world but not grab them and suffocate them.

    Reply

  4. Posted by saber92 on October 25, 2008 at 8:51 pm

    Its good man.
    Never be afraid to ask the questions that know one else will.
    Never be afraid to say what know one else will say.
    Loved it man looking forward to checking your blog out/

    Nate-

    Reply

  5. Posted by Olivia on October 25, 2008 at 8:44 pm

    Amen to that!
    thank for poasting that btw…
    (:

    Reply

  6. Posted by saraeden on October 25, 2008 at 8:10 pm

    GREAT post. And I love that scripture from Amos.

    Awesome stuff!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

