Letting Go and Giving Thanks

I spent the day cleaning out my closet and dressers yesterday.  I was amazed at the amount of clothes that I have amassed over the years that I don’t even wear.  Many of them are in brand new condition.  As I weeded out all that I had not worn in a very long time I spent time reflecting on how blessed I truly am.  I know that when clearing out and letting go of things that you have owned for a time it can be hard and some people will do so kicking and screaming. For me as I began to dig through the enormous pile of clothing that I had not worn for a long time I began to smile broader.  I found myself giving thanks.  Thankful that through the blessing that I have received I could be a blessing to others.

I’ve been spending a great deal of time reading and thinking on Colossians 3:17:

And whatever you do, whether in word or deed, do it all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him.

We each have the ability to do make small sacrifices each and every day in our lives- to hold loosely to the things that we have.  The key to doing these things or speaking the words that we share with others is to do so with a heart of thankfulness.  I think that ties in to the idea that “God loves a cheerful giver.”  Whether you give of your time, talents, or treasure – what is the heart behind why you give? 

With the cold weather heading our way here in NH I started looking at the heavy wool sweaters that would help to keep others warm.  Maybe a guy who is living under a bridge will end up wearing one of the sweaters that I gave up.  Maybe a new resident of Concord, a refugee from Africa, will be given one and the joy of being warm will give him a hope for his new future here in America.

I’ve learned over the past year about the true joy that comes from living with less.  Kim and I have been reducing our possessions.  It is freeing to know that you can live within your means.  I am grateful for the days that I have the ability to be generous with what I have.  I keep looking for other ways in which I can help others while living in a way that reduces my need for personal gain.

How can you let go of things that you have held tightly to?  How can you find joy in doing so?  Thoughts?

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Mom on October 6, 2008 at 1:35 am

    great pictures of the girls at the game and hiking. I keep up with them on your blog. Will see you soon.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Maggs on September 30, 2008 at 2:11 pm

    I was getting worried about that closet, thanks for clearing that up. Kevin, you should have saved the pants for the music video……………….!!!!!

    Reply

  3. Posted by revkevgcc on September 30, 2008 at 1:18 pm

    @Kim – the leopard skin rug is all mine! That’s the leftovers from the pants you made for me…

    Reply

  4. just so everyone knows, that is not our closet!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

