He Knows My Name, and we know yours…

I had lunch with a parent of one of the youth that attend Impact.  He shared a story with me that brought tears to my eyes.  I wanted to share it with you all:

We had previously gone to a church where our teen had been involved in the youth group.  Over time there were conflicts that arose and there was no chance at having the problems resolved – no matter how we tried to address them.  Last year our teen attended Impact for the first time.  My teen came home and was quiet but seemed as though it was an overall experience.  After a few weeks there was mention during your service about worship auditions for the youth teams.  My teen was excited and decided to audition for the teams.  Later that day I came upstairs from doing some work in the basement to find my teen crying as they were talking with my wife.  My first reaction was, “not again.”  My wife said she would talk to me later and sent me away.  I spoke later with my wife to find that my teen was in tears because when they went to the auditions they were greeted by name and welcomed in without having any feeling of not fitting in.  It was such a foreign feeling to my teen that they were moved to tears of joy.

He went on and shared a bit more about the situation but as he shared the story with me he thanked me for the welcoming culture that we have created at Impact – which is also part of the DNA of our entire church.  We sing the song by Tommy Walker, “He Knows My Name”.  With that same perspective in mind I want to make sure that youth know that we also know them by name.  I want them to know that there are adults in this place that are crazy about them.  I want teens to feel the love, forgiveness, and acceptance that we also know through our relationship with Jesus Christ.

To all the amazing leaders at Impact – Well Done!  You impacted one young person by simply knowing their name…

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by stuartdelony on September 26, 2008 at 11:04 am

    Kevin,

    This is huge. To cultivate a culture for kids and volunteers is amazing and rarely seen. Keep it up man!

    Reply

  2. Posted by mavinator on September 25, 2008 at 10:20 pm

    There are lots of adults who are crazy about our Impact kids…I’m one of them!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Chris Mogee on September 25, 2008 at 3:26 pm

    Amen and praise to God!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

