Do What You Can Do

In my journaling yesterday I came across this simple, yet profound verse in Revelation 14.  It’s the end of verse 2.

The sound I heard was like that of harpists playing their harps.

There is nothing more beautiful than that which has been created for a specific purpose doing what is was created to do.  The tone of this text would have been completely different if the sound described was “like that of harpists playing on drums.”  Each and every person is created with a specific purpose.  Our job is to find out what that is and then do it.  Far too much energy is wasted in doing the things that we are not meant to do.  

I feel alive when I am serving in youth ministry.  I sound the way I was created to sound when I am ministering to young people.  When I step out and do the things that others are supposed to be doing the clanging of cymbals begins.  This is when I know that I need to step back and support those who are called and gifted to do those things.  Rather than expending energy in areas of my life that bear no fruit I need to remain focused and at the same time encourage others to do so also.  As we each do what we are created to do the sound of a symphony is raised to our Creator and He hears a beautiful sound.

Lord, help me to remain focused and steadfast in my personal calling while at the same time helping others to do the same.

What are the things that you should be doing that you are not?

now flip it

What are the things that you are not supposed to be doing that you are?

How can you change that?

Leave a Reply

