Cruise Control…

Something I have really been challenged with lately is the speed that I drive.  It seems as though the trip down the highway to the office each day has become a speedway to me and I always end up exceeding the speed limit by far too many mph.  A recent message series that we had at GCC – the secret of more – addresses the idea that we have every thing that we need in life to grow in our faith.  The Scripture that we referred to was from 2 Peter 1:3-8

His divine power has given us everything we need for life and godliness through our knowledge of him who called us by his own glory and goodness. Through these he has given us his very great and precious promises, so that through them you may participate in the divine nature and escape the corruption in the world caused by evil desires. For this very reason, make every effort to add to your faith goodness; and to goodness, knowledge; and to knowledge, self-control; and to self-control, perseverance; and to perseverance, godliness; and to godliness, brotherly kindness; and to brotherly kindness, love.  For if you possess these qualities in increasing measure, they will keep you from being ineffective and unproductive in your knowledge of our Lord Jesus Christ.

The issue of self-control is the area that I have struggled with.  I seem to be able to control most things in my life but when I get behind the wheel of my car my foot grows heavier.  The past couple weeks I have made it a practice to use the cruise control feature in my car.  Surprisingly this is the one option that my car came with that still works!  By using the cruise control feature I have regulated my speed to stay within the limits of the law and gained control of my driving.

Now, some may feel as though this is such a small thing that I am making an issue over but for me I feel as though it is an integrity issue.  If the law states one limit for speed and I exceed that limit I am making the statement that I don’t care or respect the laws that are set.  By gaining the control over my speed I feel like I am keeping my integrity in check as well as serving as an example for others.

Cruise control may seem like a crutch that I am using to keep my speed under control but I believe it is a tool that I can use for help.  We all have tools in our lives that we can use to keep areas of our lives in check.  Yes, “his divine power has given us all we need for life and godliness”, sometimes those things are people in our lives, filters on our internet, or cruise control.  Today I am thankful for the simple victory of two weeks of controlled speed…

Leave a Reply

