Hopeless

Last night on my way home from Impact as I drove down Manchester St. to get onto the highway and head home I had a view from the hillside of what looked like a sea of blue lights.  As I got closer and closer to the bridge that crosses over the Merrimack River I began to think that there had been a bomb threat on the bridge and the police were there to close the bridge.  As the traffic light that I had been waiting for turned green I learned that the bridge was passable.  What had brought what looked like the complete police force of the city of Concord as well as a few NH State Police Troopers as well was a man who was standing on the opposite side of the railing on the bridge.

I knew that I had to at least stop and offer assistance.  I had no idea what would drive this man to throw his life away but I felt that I had to ask if there was anything that I could do to help.  As I turned around and pulled up to the curb I was greeted by one of Concord’s officers.  I identified myself as a pastor at GCC and showed him my credentials and then was told to hang on while he checked with his superior.  After a lengthy bit of time the officer came back and said that they had the situation under control and that I would not be needed.  He thanked me and I let him know that I would be praying for them and for the man on the bridge.  A few of the teens from Impact had driven by the scene and noticed that I had stopped so I called them and asked them to pray with me for this man.  

I will never know what it was that drove this man to this point of desperation but I do know that there is a God – the One and Only – who can give this man a hope for his life.  I spoke with the Concord Police Department this morning to learn that after about 10 more minutes they were able to talk the man back onto the safe side of the railing and then had transported him to Concord Hospital to receive whatever help he may have needed.

I wish that I could write that I was able to step in and speak with this man and tell him just how much his life mattered to God.  I wish that I had the opportunity to share with him the sacrifice that Jesus made on the cross for him as well as for everyone else.  It really made me think more about how many opportunities pass us by each day.  Now, there may not be a man standing over the rail on every bridge that we cross – but there are probably more people than we can imagine that are just one straw short of breaking.  I know that we are instructed to make the most of every opportunity to share the hope that is within us.  My prayer is that I will be more faithful in doing this.  My prayer for others reading this is that you too will also be moved to share the joy and grace and mercy that you have experienced.  May we all make a difference for someone each day.  May we be motivated by the love that we have experienced through Christ to change someone’s perspective on their worth.  Lord, help us all to do this more often.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by revkevgcc on June 9, 2008 at 9:01 pm

    @Deborah – thank you. I know that above all, HE was at work in that man’s life. I am just thankful that the youth formed a network on their cell phones and got many people praying in a matter of minutes. I’ll always defer to the Big Guy working over me trying to do things on my own strength…

    Reply

  2. Posted by Deborah Poulin on June 9, 2008 at 6:27 pm

    Kevin, I think that you played a much bigger part.I think with your prayers, and you asking the others to do the same. Might be what you were meant to do .Sometimes it doesn’t seem like it’s enough,but sometimes it is so much GREATER.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

