Foot In Mouth…

So we’re sitting down to dinner this evening and I am talking with Megan, my 8 year old daughter, about her homework assignment for the day.  She has been reading a book about the letter Z feeling left out of the alphabet and so it just up and left.  Her assignment is to pick a letter of the alphabet that wants to leave other than Z and then write a story about how the letter feels and why it chose to leave the alphabet.

150fsesame-street-alphabet-posters.jpgThis is where I really enjoy time with my daughter because when she gets assignments like these my creative juices get flowing.  I tend to be a bit of an over-achiever as well, so rather than just one letter feeling slighted by the rest of the alphabet (like the letter B leaving because it never gets to go first – stinkin’ letter A!)   I bring up examples of X & Y wanting to leave because Z gets all the attention at the end of the song or even better, L, M, N, O, P.

Do you ever notice when you sing the alphabet song that you lump all 5 letters together.? They never get recognized for their individual characteristics.  It’s as if the 5 letters are all just one big letter.  And so as I am pointing this out to my 8 year old daughter for her 3rd grade homework assignment.  I begin to go on and on about how each letter wants to be individual recognized for who they really are.  L wants to be seen for it’s true L-ness, M wants to be acknowledged for all it’s glorious M-ness.  N as well, wants everybody to sing of the amazing N-ness that it carries with it.  O can only imagine how much better life would be if everyone was aware of it’s O-ness.  And of course, what a wonderful world it would be if everyone could embrace the P-ness of P!

And that’s when it got awkward…  Kim saw it coming but, like a slow motion accident being witnessed from across the street could do nothing to stop the words from coming out of my mouth. And then I realized what I said.  And the hidden chuckles began from both myself and Kim.  Thankfully Megan had no clue.

Parents, don’t help your kids out with their homework assignments.  Chances are they will do better without you – at least I know Megan will…

9 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Paula on April 30, 2012 at 7:31 pm

    That’s funny, good thing that after P there’s Q with it’s q-ness! ^_^

    Reply

  2. coooooooooooooooool.man but dont say that sarah. man.

    Reply

  3. the pic is coooooooooooooooooooooool.

    Reply

  4. Omigosh PK…WICKED funny. I love it. So mature and everything. Lol. See You on Wednesday!!!

    Reply

  5. Posted by mom on March 13, 2008 at 8:53 pm

    great job Kevin. I like your explanations. I too got a chuckle out of that one.

    Reply

  6. Posted by kim on March 11, 2008 at 9:09 am

    this kind of stuff only happens at my house!!!

    Reply

  7. Posted by Melanie on March 10, 2008 at 6:29 pm

    Thanks for the chuckle! 🙂 Thank God for the innocense of children!

    Reply

  8. Posted by bob & kathleen on March 10, 2008 at 6:27 pm

    Great job Kevin I now think the letter “P” feels very important at least at your dinner table…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

