Making Mistakes

url.jpeg

I received an email today asking a great question…

“Regarding the bookmarks in the Feb. 17th service, that say “Go after a dream that is destined to fail unless God intervenes” and “keep making mistakes”, is this a reflection of Holy Spirit-filled and/or scriptural advice?” 

Here is my response.  I thought I would share it with all of you because I believe there is the chance of misinterpreting what is meant by this statement:

Thank you for your question – it’s a great one!  As I read through Scripture I see so many instances of people acting out on the “God inspired” dreams and visions that I am overwhelmed. 

  • I think of Moses going to Pharaoh to ask for the release of the Israelites from slavery. 
  • Joshua leading the Israelites around Jericho with nothing but a few horns. 
  • Esther going to King Xerxes to ask for the lives of all the Jews that were to be put to death. 
  • Noah building a boat in the middle of the dessert with no water to be seen – it actually had never rained prior to that time, ground was watered by the dew that came up from the ground at night. 

The list goes on and on. 

  • Joseph sticking with Mary even though they had not yet been married and now she was pregnant (and he didn’t “do it”).

In all of these situations God had revealed to them a dream.  They could have said, “It’ll never work.” and gone about their business.  But instead they chose to believe that with God’s help these dreams would be fulfilled.

Mistakes.  The first person that comes to mind would be Peter.  Not only is he referred to as the disciple with the foot shaped mouth but he is known for his brash, quick tempered responses.  These would, in my mind, all be looked at as mistakes.  However, Jesus doesn’t make mistakes when He calls us and He knows that some of us need more “work” done in our lives than others.  Peter went on to preach and speak to thousands and the beginning of the early church was lead by him.  There are many times in our lives when we need to keep making mistakes because if we give up after our first try we will never accomplish what God has called us to do.

I hope this has helped answer your question.  May we continue to make mistakes knowing that over time we will get it right and His will will be done through us!”

So, any thoughts?  I’d love to hear back from you about my response.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by revkevgcc on February 18, 2008 at 12:22 pm

    @Tina – I believe conviction should always serve as an encouragement. Otherwise it is just a feeling of guilt. When we are convicted we are moved to action to do something about it. I am so glad to hear that you were both convicted and encouraged, I would hate to think that something I said about being free from guilt brought you to a place of more guilt…

    May you be free today to live life without guilt or shame. May fear no longer have a place in your heart!

    About that apology you owe someone – don’t hold off on doing that. Go for it! The sooner the better. I will pray that it is well received and that your relationship with this person is strengthened because of your willingness to “turn the other cheek”.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Tina Greco on February 17, 2008 at 8:39 pm

    There are many times in our lives when we need to keep making mistakes because if we give up after our first try we will never accomplish what God has called us to do.

    Thank you for this! What a word of encouragement. I was encouraged yet convicted by something else that you said at today’s sermon. Is it possible to be encouraged and convicted all at the same time? I’ve realized that the Lord is currently bringing me through a certain situation, and I’ve been questioning, “ok Lord – if we seen this before in me time and time, and we *know* that this is how I’m going to respond, then WHY do we keep coming back to this same exact spot?” I now know why – God is continually working me until I get it right! Praise Him for His grace!

    Further, I was convicted when you talked about how as Christians, when we’re wronged by others, we need to be turning the other cheek, not slapping their cheek. I like Peter, often have a quick, brash tempered response to situations. I can think of a current situation, where despite being wronged, I totally flew off the handle and owe someone a serious apology.

    This gives me continued courage to press in and move forward.

    See you Tuesday!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

