Time – how can you give it away?

mentor.jpg

I think that it’s safe to say that most people have heard the statement, “People won’t care how much you know until they know how much you care.”  I had an opportunity to spend the afternoon with a teenager who needed a little extra time.  This guy sees me twice a week usually – Sunday and Wednesday.  While he hears me speak every week and sees me live my life in front of him our relationship needed more time together on an individual level.

I have to say, it was very refreshing today to hang out with him.  I got to eat an amazing roast beef sandwich complete with horseradish sauce with him as we talked about some real deep stuff that he has been dealing with.  I’m encouraged by our time together today.  Not only did I spend time sitting and talking with him but we also worked together.  There has been a lot of little things around the building that have needed some attention.  I spent the afternoon working with him and we were able to get a bunch of stuff done.  Not only did we get a significant amount of tasks done, I got to share my life with a teen that needed to see what real life for me is like.

I get questioned all the time, “what can a pastor possibly do all day, every day?”  I sometimes get the feeling that people think I sit around the office reading the Bible, praying and waiting for the phone to ring.  Now, that does go on – and I love the fact that I have a career that allows me to read the Bible and pray!  But there is so much more that happens every day as a pastor.  Today I got to share that with a great teen.  It reinforced in me the belief that we all should be looking for simple, real life ways to connect with the next generation of leaders around us.

How can you invest some of your time each week to encourage, train, disciple someone younger (or older!) than you?  I’d love to hear your thoughts…

Leave a Reply

