New Family Tradition

dsc06869.jpg

If you can believe this, we have a new family tradition that has been inspired by our dog.  It seems as though anytime we walk through the door our dog meets us as if we have been gone for months.  Monday I made this observation out loud as Kim came back from dropping off Megan at school.  I then elaborated by imagining.  “Imagine if we all greeted each other the way Gracie did when we walked in the door?”  We tried it out when the bus dropped her off after school.  She thought we were a little weird but I know she enjoyed all the attention too.

Well, now whenever anyone comes home we are greeted with exuberant joy and lots of hugs and kisses (Makenna has even taken to licking my face like our dog – maybe a bit too much…)  I will say, I look forward to coming home every night now.  I’m not sure if this will stick around forever but while it lasts, I love it!

8 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Denise on January 24, 2008 at 12:18 pm

    Hey Kevin, What a riot but true. I think I’ll try this on everyone today. I’ ll let you know what happens. I won’t be licking anyone!

    Reply

  2. Posted by revkevgcc on January 17, 2008 at 3:56 pm

    @Sandy – I’m hoping no one licks you when you walk through the doors! yes, and I pray that is the kind of culture that we can extend outside the four walls of our building. May we all be inviting and welcoming to people wherever we are!

    Reply

  3. Posted by sandy on January 17, 2008 at 12:51 pm

    Since the very beginning Grace Capitol Church has felt like this to me. Always welcoming, there is always someone ready to greet with a smile and a hug. Someone at Grace is always happy to see you. Maybe this is one of reasons Grace is a wonderful place to be.

    Reply

  4. Posted by kim on January 16, 2008 at 6:22 pm

    There will be no licking before, during or after the game at my house. Thank you very much!

    Reply

  5. Posted by revkevgcc on January 14, 2008 at 2:47 pm

    @Jake – I’ll be waiting for you big guy! Game starts at 3. Our house is wide open for the game – bring the whole family!

    Reply

  6. Posted by Jake on January 14, 2008 at 2:08 pm

    I will expect the same greeting next Sunday when I arrive to see the Pats wail on the Chargers. I will let you decide if you want to lick my face, that might be a little weird.

    Reply

  7. Posted by revkevgcc on January 13, 2008 at 7:30 pm

    @ Betty – Keep in mind I refer to the family dog as the one who greets us. If we greeted each other the way our cats do it would be a whole different story… with not so nice a happy ending!

    Reply

  8. Posted by BETTY JONES on January 12, 2008 at 10:35 pm

    PASTOR KEVIN,

    I LOVE THE NEW FAMILY TRADITION, NOTHING LIKE A DOG WHO LOVES US
    UNCONDITIONALLY TO MAKE US SEE WHAT WE ARE MISSING EVERY DAY. GOD BLESS.
    BETTY

    Reply

Leave a Reply

