So Blessed!

So we’re all seated and chowing big time during Thanksgiving dinner when my mother-in-law walks out of the room and then returns with a card in her hand. She walks over to me and hands me the card with a big smile on her face. I’m a little confused but figure that they just want to get an early start on my birthday (by the way, it’s December 12, mark your calendars and start budgeting for what you’re gonna get me – Starbucks giftcards are my favorite!). So I open the card and everyone around the table has the same goofy grin on their face. Again, confusion. The card is for Christmas and it was signed by everyone there. I smiled and said, “Thanks!” to everyone thinking that maybe the check that was in the card fell out and was under the table (what else am I supposed to think!?) They then lead me downstairs and out to the garage.

craftsman9151.jpg

Yeah Baby! 9.5 horsepower, 28 inch clearing width! Throw away the shovels, I’m blowing snow this winter! What a huge blessing and an even bigger surprise! Kim and I have talked about getting a snowblower for the past 5 years but it has never been in the budget. As I sat there thinking of all the things I was thankful for it was less about the snowblower and so much more about God’s faithfulness to us not getting trapped in financial debt. Because we deferred our own desire for a snowblower that we couldn’t afford anyway God was able to bless my in-laws and brother-in-law through the blessing of giving. This has been a great Thanksgiving weekend!

Bring on the snow! This year I am ready for it and will not complain.

Leave a Reply

