The Bondage of Materialism

materialism.jpg

Why do we get sucked into the trap of materialism?

I mean,

  • I have an iPod – it’s not the newest one.
  • I have a  cell phone – not an iPhone
  • I have a laptop – not an intel chip macbook
  • I have a car – not a Cooper Mini
  • I have a house – not a mansion
  • I have a TV – not a 52″ plasma screen with surround sound

Why is what we have never enough?  Why do we get so weighed down with the burden of feeling like we have to have bigger, better, faster?

I love the quote by Immanuel Kant

“Give a man everything he wants and at that moment everything is not everything”

1 Timothy 6:6 talks about “Godliness with contentment is great gain”

Maybe the great gain is that we get our life back.  We no longer are owned by the things that we have striven for for so long.

Lord, help me be content.  Help those that I pastor to be content.  Help us not to drive ourselves into the ground trying to achieve the status of  “having it all”.

3 responses to this post.

  1. […] https://revkevgcc.wordpress.com/2007/11/07/the-bondage-of-materialism/ (Pic Source) This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged Materialism, Youth. Bookmark the permalink. ← The Medias Impact on Young Women […]

    Reply

  2. Posted by revkevgcc on November 12, 2007 at 12:01 pm

    @Will – you are welcome. I am so glad that you are enjoying the messages that we are sending out there. If we could all just slow down a little bit our souls would be in such better shape!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Will Eifler on November 8, 2007 at 12:23 am

    Kevin, I really appreciate you hitting on this along with the message on rest that Pastor Peter and you are giving out, because I feel like this is really crucial to us having real peace. I pray we can all get ahold of this!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

