Meltdown

06anger.jpg

I’m still not sure what brought it on.  Last night we were sitting down to dinner and Megan just broke down.  She began sobbing almost uncontrollably.   We had her out a little late Wednesday night so I am quite sure that she was over-tired.

It’s rough when you are watching your daughter just break down.  I walked around the table and gave her big hugs, told her how much I loved her and then sent her upstairs to get into her p.j.’s so she could call it an early night.

For an 8 year old she is driven.  I am fearful because I see so much of myself in her.  I get to the point where I can’t put things down until they are done.  I see her doing these same things.  She is always trying to read more books (she has a goal set for herself to read one book per week – Nancy Drew is her favorite!).  There are days when I have to tell her to slow down and then I catch myself having to hear the very same message.

I am getting to a point where I feel free to take time off when I begin to feel like I am going to burst.  When I start feeling resentment for doing I am able to remind myself that God is more concerned with my being.  I am so thankful for the times when I can just get away with God and be refreshed by Him.

How about you?  Are you one straw away from “breaking the camels back”?  What are the things that you need to put down, say “no” to, or take a break from?

Leave a Reply

