Character Counts

billygrahambirthday4.jpg

I have been intrigued by the life of Billy Graham for years.  The strength of his character is something that I strive for.  I read a while back that he maintains a level of accountability in his life and in his leadership that keeps them all above reproach.  There are many things in my life that I model after what I have read or heard about his leadership.  Billy will go to the extent of leaving an elevator and walking down flights of stairs if he finds himself alone with a woman.  He always wants to keep even the appearance of evil at bay.  Rather than an accusation of misgivings he will take the long way down.

In my own life I always want to do the right things rather than the easy things.  Billy has been quoted as saying, “The Christian life is not a constant high. I have my moments of deep discouragement. I have to go to God in prayer with tears in my eyes, and say, ‘O God, forgive me,’ or ‘Help me.’”  It is freeing to read these words.  I try and have it all together in my life but there are times when I do need to run to God and cry out for His help.  I was reminded of this today during our baptism service.  As people gave testimony of God actively working in their life I was brought to tears as I recalled how I was rescued by His love, grace, and mercy.

In my life character means I have never “arrived”.  There is always more that God can do in my life as I strive to grow closer and closer to Him.  When I do mess up I am so glad that He is always ready to rescue me from myself.  I am thankful for the reminder that God gave me today of this.

Leave a Reply

