Eating an Elephant

chfi1.jpg

One bite at a time…

I like to set goals for myself.  When I do this there is something quantitative that I can look at.  Goals allow me to see if I am tracking on pace.  Some shirk at the idea of deadlines.  I love them!  By setting goals for myself I don’t get overwhelmed by the big picture of a project.  Just like the example of eating an elephant one bite at a time, it helps me to see that I can take on big projects and lofty goals by focusing on the small steps needed to get anything done.

Today I met a goal that I had set for myself.  I have now run 100 miles!  When I set this goal for myself I didn’t think of how long I would have to run in one day, I broke it down in three mile increments.  Each time I work out at Planet Fitness I do three miles.  After the course of 34 trips to the gym I have now met the goal of running 100 miles.

What is it in your life that is a big goal?  Are you facing a deadline that seems too big to accomplish all in one day?  Break it down.  Knock off bits & pieces of the goal each day.  Before you know it, you’ll be done and will have met the goal that you set.

Just to make this a spiritual moment – understand this:

Phil. 4:13 “I can do ALL things through He who gives me strength”!

Leave a Reply

