I Will Overcome

artist_200703300838220_0.jpg

I spent the day in the sanctuary resetting the chairs after having the carpets cleaned yesterday.  Charlie Hall was my music of choice.  Great song by him called “I Will Overcome”.

I know that pushing chairs around all day can seem like a mindless task, believe me it was…  but it was a great time to pray for lots of people and all sorts of things that are going on in the lives of so many people.  Here are the words to the song:

And I can see that my hands are trembling, I can see that my legs are weak
I can see that my head is spinning, but I will overcome
And I know that my heart is hurting, And I know that my soul it aches
And I know that it seems I’m failing, but I will overcome, yeah

Chorus:
O Lord I’m strong in You, O Lord I am wise in You
O Lord I can see in You, so I will overcome
O Lord I’m loved by You, O Lord I am free in you
O Lord I’m complete in You
So I will overcome, I will overcome, I will overcome

Bridge:
God listen to me shout, I’m so far from anywhere and I’m calling out
Lead me, lead me to the rock that is higher than I
You’re my breath, You’re my breath, You’re my very life
Infinite, Holy King meets weak and frail Christ in me
And I will overcome not by my strength but by Your grace and love

What truth in that song!  Be encouraged today.  Even though you may feel overwhelmed with whatever it is that you are dealing with – He is so much bigger than your problems!  May you, today, lay hold of the promises that are given by the Creator of the Universe!  May you rely even more on His strength as you persevere and experience victory.  Know that you are not alone.  There are many people that can and will stand with you as you trust in the Lord to bring you through this.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Chris Mogee on August 10, 2007 at 11:59 am

    I had the awesome chance of hearing him sing this live at Soulfest on Saturday. The words are so powerful, and even as I look at my own life I truly give God all the glory for what He has, is, and continues to do in my life.

    Chris

    Reply

Leave a Reply

