What’s Your Passion?

I’m still amazed when I see people who don’t look the part step into something such as youth ministry and shine. I have learned over the past 10 years that students don’t want the “hip, cool” guy. They want someone who cares about them. They desire to be cared for. They are looking for someone who is passionate about them.

Jeff Cerow pointed me to this guy. He’s a cell phone salesman. But that isn’t what he is passionate about. He loves to sing opera. Check it below. This is amazing!

Well, Paul Potts went on to win the whole competition – who would have thought!? Opera! Are you serious? It leads me to my question for you all – What’s Your Passion? The youth of this area need people who are passionate about God, passionate about them, and passionate about seeing them connect in relationship with HIM!

Listen to his comments after his incredible performance. Have more confidence in yourself. If God has put the desire and the passion to serve youth then do it with full confidenc, knowing that He will give you the words to speak and and the ability to handle the tough times when they come…

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Chris on June 26, 2007 at 9:51 pm

    Wow! There have been many times that I have in the past doubted myself. This is a true example of how much I can impact someones life just by being the humble servant God wants me to be. My passion used to be me–making money, career advancments, or just a life filled with selfish ambitions. When you come truly come to a place in your life when its not anymore about me, but only about God, humble yourself for his service than with Christ we can truly do all things.

    Reply

  2. Posted by becky on June 26, 2007 at 10:10 am

    My sister in law asked me the other day what motivates your passion? I really had to ponder that for awhile. I know that my gift is teaching and it is also my passion. But do I teach for the right reasons. Do I do it just to get ahead or do I do it because I know that God is using it to bring families to him. Do you use your passion as a vessel to share the love of Jesus? You do need to have confidence in yourself as God does not make mistakes and gives you a passion to further His molding of you into Himself and to share His love for all.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

